OUID Defense Attorneys

According to Michigan law defense attorneys, drugged driving entails the possibility of an arrest for operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs, even if the driver has traces of cocaine or Schedule I drugs in their system.

Michigan’s laws have zero tolerance and can impose severe penalties on an individual, even for a first offense.

Michigan Drugged Driving Laws

If you are found guilty of drugged driving in Michigan, you will be subject to severe punishment. You can have to serve time in jail or prison, pay hefty fines, and lose your ability to drive.

If you refuse to submit to a test on the side of the road immediately after being suspected of operating under the influence of drugs (OUID), a police officer may be able to get a search warrant for a blood sample from you under Michigan’s strict drugged driving statutes.

  • A 30-day driver’s license suspension and a 150-day restricted license.
  • A $100 minimum fine and a $500 maximum fine.
  • Fees for driver responsibility up to $1000
  • 93 days or more in prison
  • 360 hours maximum of community service
  • Immobilization of vehicles
  • Installing an interlock device for ignition

OUID Accidents

The consequences for drivers found guilty of operating a vehicle while under the influence of narcotics

Due to a rise in drugged driving on Michigan highways, police believe that these additional punishments are essential to help get rid of some of the reckless drivers that are present on the state’s roads.

It’s critical that individuals understand that if they have any drugs in their system that affect their capacity to drive, they may be charged with these offenses.

This includes any prescription drugs they may be taking, even if they are taking them as directed by their Michigan law physician.

It is important for drivers to be informed of any possible pharmaceutical side effects before getting behind the wheel.

Michigan Drugged Driving Laws
Michigan Drugged Driving Laws

When you are accused of a crime in your life, particularly if this is your first job, the idea of going to jail or prison, losing your ability to drive, and paying hefty penalties can make you feel anxious.

Under the previous legislation, police enforcement and prosecutors did not have to provide proof beyond a reasonable doubt that the use of drugs caused you to become intoxicated in order to be found guilty of operating in the presence of drugs.

All they needed to demonstrate was that you had any amount of medication that impairs judgment in your system when you drove. Many erroneous convictions resulted from this, as some narcotics can remain in your system for months after consumption!

Referency by

https://www.criminaldefenselawcenterwestmichigan.com/drug-charges/

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top